where shall I even begin?

As Kenneth Koch once said: It seems everything is so full of possibilities one can hardly take it all in. What an inspired poet, how true are his words!

After 5 days of cutting loose with my internet ties and hence my Google Reader, I came back tonight to almost a thousand unread posts… Oh the cruelty of the situation! Oh the cornelian choice! Oh the terrible feeling to know that someone, somewhere has been incredibly creative and I am not going to have the time to marvel at it!

How am I to choose which news I am going to read? Which pictures I am going to wonder at? Short films I am going to laugh at? Texts and quotes I am going to relish? The list of potentialities is head-spinning and I’m feeling dizzy with possibilities…

And here we come to what I love most (and equally hate) about the internet: the endless opportunities to learn, and share, the so many ways to be aware, connected and inspired. Being by your computer screen connects you to the world’s pulse while sometimes dragging you away from its beating heart.

1 Comment

Filed under thoughts, Web 2.0

One response to “where shall I even begin?

  1. Pingback: Social Network, yes, but do something real « An encyclopaedia of the beautiful, unexpected & amusing

Leave a Reply

