‘I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves.’ Anna Quindlen

You’ll have noticed that I always mention ‘the little things that make me happy’… Well, here’s another one: browsing through libraries or book shelves in charity shops (especially book shelves in charity shops) and finding books I didn’t even know I wanted to read. I enjoy the smell of books, old or new, their soft and sometimes dusty touch, the colours of their spines and the – almost – religious atmosphere that emanates from the place.

I often pick & buy random books. I’ll have read a couple of pages opened by chance and decided the writing style was original or the excerpt catching enough, I’ll have briefly skimmed through the summary… but first and most of all, I’d have been convinced and attracted by the book cover.

And this is the reason why I loved this website so much: An Archive of Book Covers & Designers. It is a visual feast and a cultural hotspot, a patchwork of covers and a free-flowing stream of design inspiration… it’s a book cover encyclopaedia and it’s all yours!

Leave a comment

Filed under thoughts

Leave a Reply

